The third Matriculation Ceremony of Augustine University was held on the 22nd of February, 2018 at the University’s Convocation Hall.

The ceremony was graced by many including members of the University’s Board of Trustees, Governing Council, Priests in the Archdiocese, Staff and parents of the matriculating students. In his welcome address, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. S.O. Afolami reiterated the Management’s commitment to maintaining the standard the University is known for.

Prizes were also awarded to the best-behaved male and female students because the University promotes both scholarship and virtuous life. The selection for this was done via a computer-based process in which both Staff and students chose from a list of all 200 and 300 Level students whoever they adjudged to be the best-behaved. Miss Clara Nwadinigwe and Mr. Emmanuel Agbo both 300L students of the Departments of English and Business Administration respectively were the awardees for this year; they received N100, 000 each. This award is funded by Very Rev. Fr. Patrick Obayomi, the Dean of Ikeja Deanery of the Lagos Archdiocese and Parish Priest of St. John the Evangelist in Shogunle, Lagos State.

The Vice-Chancellor added that the Senate of the University had approved 8 courses spread through four years as the pedagogic aspect of character formation, with the hope that these courses would help form graduates who will contribute positively to the lifting of the moral tone of the society.

The Keynote speaker of the ceremony, Prof. Michael Faborode, who spoke on the topic “Universities: Their Governance and Civic Obligations”, said that universities are in existence for three products which are graduates, research output and impacting on society’s progress. For this purpose, he said, universities must provide for teaching and learning, undertake research and engage with the society and the larger world to disseminate knowledge about their outputs.

Also present at the ceremony were the Chancellor, Msgr. Aniangwu, the Chairman, Board of Trustees, Sir Steve Omojafor, the Chairman, Governing Council, Chief Gilbert Temisan Grant, spouses of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Mrs. Carolyn Afolake Afolami and Prof. Peter Aziba, the husband of the Registrar among other notable guests.



Share AUI on: